Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

24 planes of Royal Rainmaking Department, Air Force deployed to seed clouds

The Royal Rainmaking Department has deployed all of its 22 planes to seed and attack clouds with support from two planes of the Royal Thai Air Force in an urgent operation to alleviate drought in many parts of the country.

The department, which is under the Agriculture Ministry, has 22 planes stationed at 11 rainmaking units in 13 provinces carry out operations urgently. Units also travel between provinces. 

The 13 provinces where the 11 rainmaking units are stationed or relocate back and forth are Chiang Mai, Phitsanulok, Tak, Lop Buri, Kanchanaburi, Nakhon Ratchasima, Khon Kaen, Ubon Ratchathani, Surin, Sa Kaew, Surat Thani, Rayong and Nakhon Sawan.

The department uses 11 Caravan planes, 7 Casa planes, two Super King Air planes and two CN-235 planes and the Air Force is deploying BT-67 planes to join the operations.

The aim of the operations is to increase water in reservoirs where the level has dropped to below 30 per cent.

 The Nation



If you like a story please share and like it with all your friends and leave comments above.
Do you have an interesting story or Tip-Off for Samui Times then visit the TIP-OFF Page Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login