Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

30 provinces of Thailand declared drought disaster zones and will receive aid

The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation will give aid to 30 provinces that have been declared drought disaster zones after the department surveyed the endangered areas. The department aims to give aid in certain zones in villages using integrative management and allocating strategies to help villagers in the affected zones. Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department chief Chatchai Promlert said that a total of 10,163 villages within 27 provinces have been declared drought zones in need of urgent assistance. Northern provinces suffering from drought include: Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phrae, Tak, Nan, Phayao, Phitsanulok, Nakhon surat thaniSawan, Phichit, Mae Hong Son and Chiang Mai. Northeastern provinces include: Buri Ram, Khon Kaen, Si Sa Ket, Chaiyaphum, Maha Sarakham, Kalasin and Nong Bua Lamphu. In the Central region, affected provinces include: Sing Buri, Saraburi and Chai Nat. In the East, Samut Prakarn, Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi and Prachin Buri are all drought affected. In the South, Trang, Satun, Krabi and Surat Thani in the South are suffering from the drought.

The department is also asking citizens to conserve water and and to make sure that their citizens distribute water properly. Farmers are urged to refrain from growing rice and other plants that need a lot of water in the off-season. Should any people need assistance, dial 1784, 24 hours.



If you like a story please share and like it with all your friends and leave comments above.
Do you have an interesting story or Tip-Off for Samui Times then visit the TIP-OFF Page Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login