Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

MOTS to establish tourism development zones

The Ministry of Tourism and Sports (MOTS) is planning to introduce tourism development zones in five groups of provinces and is to review the national tourism policy, the Minister has advised.

The Minister, Kobkarn Wattanavrangkul revealed that the ministry will hold talks with the National Tourism Policy Committee to establish the tourism strategic plan.

This plan will develop tourism in five groups of provinces. The first group is the Lanna Civilisation tourism sector, in Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Lamphun, and Lampang provinces.

The second group is the active beach tourism sector, in Chonburi, Rayong, Chanthaburi, and Trat provinces.

The third group is the Southern-Isan Civilisation tourism sector, in Nakhon Ratchasima, Buriram, Surin, Sisaket, and Ubon Ratchathani provinces.

The fourth group is the Royal Coast tourism sector in Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Chumphon, and Ranong provinces.

And the fifth group is the Andaman sea tourism sector, in Krabi, Phang Nga, Phuket, Trang, and Satun provinces.

The ministry will consider the existing tourism roadmap, to decide whether it requires an edit or a complete rewrite. However, the MOTS will work with other related ministries when working on the roadmap, said the Minister.

The Minister of Tourism and Sports also said that the ministry has decided to establish an accurate and reliable tourist information center, which will coordinate with the Tourism Authority of Thailand and the Department of Tourism. This project is currently under discussion but is expected to start next year.




If you like a story please share and like it with all your friends and leave comments above.
Do you have an interesting story or Tip-Off for Samui Times then visit the TIP-OFF Page Here

You must be logged in to post a comment Login