Connect with us

Thai Life

24 provinces monitored for Asian swine fever

Samui Times Editor



24 provinces monitored for Asian swine fever | Samui Times
  • follow us in feedly

The Department of Livestock Development has announced that 24 provinces of Thailand are now surveillance areas for African swine fever (ASF).

24 provinces monitored for Asian swine fever | News by Samui Times

Director-General Sorawit Thaneto, said that the severe pig epidemic is continuing to spread in Asia. There is no vaccine or cure. Though the disease has never been reported in people, an outbreak is estimated to cost direct and indirect economic damage to the livestock production industry of at least Bt100 billion.

Anyone wishing to move animals or carcasses of pigs or wild boars, including semen or embryos for breeding, through an epidemic surveillance area must obtain permission from the veterinarian responsible for that area. A violation is punishable by an imprisonment of up to two years and/or a fine up to Bt40,000 under Article 65 of the Animal Epidemic Act BE 2015

Areas under surveillance are:

North: Chiang Rai, Phayao, Nan, Uttaradit, Mae Hong Son and Chiang Mai;

Northeast: Loei, Nong Khai, Bueng Kan, Nakhon Phanom, Mukdahan, Amnat Charoen, Ubon Ratchathani, Si Sa Ket, Surin and Buri Ram;

East: Sa Kaeo, Chanthaburi and Trat;

West: Ratchaburi;

South: Ranong.

As well, Three provinces are declared partial surveillance areas:

Tak (5 districts): Umphang, Mae Sot, Tha Song Yang, Mae Ramat and Phop Phra;

Phitsanulok (2 districts): Chat Trakan and Nakhon Thai;

Phetchaburi (2 districts): Nong Ya Plong and Kaeng Krachan.

 The Nation

Stay updated with Samui Times by following us on Facebook.