Connect with us

Thailand News

Indonesia waives visa requirements for 45 countries

Samui Times Editor



Indonesia waives visa requirements for 45 countries | Samui Times
  • follow us in feedly

In a bid to boost tourism, Indonesian President Joko Widodo on Tuesday signed the presidential regulation on visa-free travel for citizens from 45 countries, The Jakarta Globe reported.

indonesiaAccording the Cabinet Secretariat website, citizen from those countries are allowed to stay for 30 days but the visit permit cannot be extended or changed to other stay permits.

Citizens from the member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations as well as from several other states could already travel to the country visa-free, but the complete list of visa-free states and territories is now:

Singapore, Thailand, Myanmar, Brunei, Malaysia, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Philippines, Chile, Morocco, Peru, Ecuador, Hong Kong, Macau, China, Russia, South Korea, Japan, United States, Canada, New Zealand, Mexico, United Kingdom, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman, and South Africa.

Australians, the third-largest group of foreign visitors after Singaporeans and Malaysians, will still need a visa to enter the country, although tourists can buy one on arrival.

The five international airports through which citizens of the 45 countries and territories can enter Indonesia visa-free are Soekarno-Hatta in Jakarta, Ngurah Rai in Bali, Kuala Namu in Medan, Juanda in Surabaya and Hang Nadim in Batam.

Sri Bintan and Tanjung Uban seaports in Bintan Island and Sekupang and Batam Center ports in Batam will also provide the facility.

Thai PBS

Stay updated with Samui Times by following us on Facebook.